Our Sanction Committee

The SURE Sanctions Advisory Board shall be the body of at least three persons established under the SURE-EU scheme to impose sanctions in the event of non-compliance by system participants. Its responsibilities and tasks are set out in the “Integrity Management” system principles and implemented with the appointed members of the Sanctions Advisory Board through a framework contract and the rules of procedure.

The members of the Sanctions Advisory Board shall require technical and professional knowledge and many years of experience in the bioenergy sector, but shall not be subject to any potential conflict of interest arising from previous or current professional activity.

The chairperson of the Sanctions Advisory Board shall be at least one lawyer qualified to be a judge. This combination ensures that breaches of the SURE-EU system are managed in a technically and legally compliant manner without the risk of conflict of interest.

The members of the Sanctions Advisory Board are:

  • Kurt Pillmann (Chairman)
    Lawyer and former President of the Bonn Regional Court
  • Dr. Heinz Kopetz
    Former President of the World Bioenergy Association and former President of Bioenergy Europe
  • N.N.
    (to be announced soon)
We use cookies
We respect your privacy.

We only use functional cookies to ensure optimal use of our website. Cookies other than those required for the technical operation of the website are not used by SURE.

You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies. Please note that if you reject your application, it is possible that not all functions of the page will be available.